About our Awards


The Awards platform for the 2024 Independent Publishing Awards is now closed

What are the IPG Independent Publishing Awards?
The Independent Publishing Awards honour the success and creativity of the UK’s independent publishing sector. They are the IPG’s annual celebration of achievements across many different areas of publishing and have rewarded more than 200 companies and individuals since launching in 2007. The Independent Publishing Awards are managed by the IPG, supported by our valued partners in publishing, and judged by industry experts.

Why should I enter?
An IPG Independent Publishing Award is one of the most significant recognitions of success that an independent publisher can achieve. Previous winners tell us that securing an Award or a place on a shortlist has brought huge prestige and benefits. Among other things it:

  • Validates your hard work over the last 12 months
  • Raises your profile in the industry
  • Opens the door to new sales and partnership opportunities in the UK and beyond
  • Lifts the morale of staff, authors and everyone associated with the organisation.

Regardless of whether you win or are shortlisted, submitting an entry is a valuable process. It gives you the chance to pause your day-to-day work and reflect on your past achievements and your future goals. We know you are busy and so make the submission process as straightforward as possible. Entering should take only a short time, but the benefits may last for years.

Which Awards can I enter?
There are 13 categories for you to enter. There is sure to be at least one to suit your business, and usually more.

Five of the 13 categories are Publisher of the Year Awards, covering the different fields of publishing in which IPG members work. Other Awards recognise achievement in particular areas, including international activity, audio, metadata, sustainability and diversity . We have another category for newcomers to publishing, and one for the young stars of publishers’ teams.

The full list of IPG Independent Publishing Awards is as follows:

  • Trade Publisher of the Year
  • Academic & Professional Publisher of the Year
  • Children’s Publisher of the Year
  • Education Publisher of the Year
  • Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year
  • Newcomer Award
  • International Award
  • Impact Award
  • Sustainability Award
  • Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award
  • Young Independent Publisher Award
  • Audio Award
  • Metadata Award

There is another Award for which no entries are needed: the overall Independent Publisher of the Year. This is our flagship Award and is chosen from a shortlist made up of our five Publisher of the Year category winners.

We also invite nominations for a final category: the Services to Independent Publishers Award. This recognises the dedicated support of independent publishers that is made by organisations and individuals. All members are welcome to nominate for this.

Who can enter?
The Awards are open to all members of the Independent Publishers Guild based in the UK and Ireland. If you would like to discuss joining the IPG before entering, please email [email protected].

What does it cost to enter?
All entries are completely free.

How do I enter?
Submissions are quick and easy. All the information you need to get started is here.